Skip to main content

Steve Shumway Appointed Director, School of Technology; Two Department Chairs Renewed for Second Terms

Shumway replaces Barry Lunt as SOT Director, Aaron Hawkins and Norm Jones renewed for second terms as engineering department chairs

The Ira A. Fulton College of Engineering recently announced the appointment of Dr. Steven Shumway as director of the School of Technology. Shumway's appointment is effective July 1, 2021.

Dr. Steven Shumway portrait
Dr. Steven Shumway.

Shumway replaces Barry Lunt, who has been serving since 2015.

Shumway is a professor in the Technology & Engineering Studies program. He has served on the Board of Directors for the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) and is the current president of the Council on Technology & Engineering Teacher Education (CTETE). Shumway is a regular presenter at state, regional and national conferences and is actively involved in providing STEM professional development for K-12 teachers. His research and publication interests include student motivation in the classroom and the development and implementation of K-12 STEM curriculum.

“The School of Technology has a great tradition of preparing students of faith, intellect, and character with a specific emphasis on technological skill development and a desire to continue learning and to serve others throughout their lives,” says Shumway. “I look forward to working with the faculty and students in the school to continue this tradition.”

Additionally, two department chairs in the Ira A. Fulton College of Engineering have been renewed for a second term: Dr. Aaron Hawkins for electrical and computer engineering and Dr. Norm Jones for civil and construction engineering.

Dr. Aaron Hawkins, left, and Dr. Norm Jones, right.

Hawkins earned a B.S. degree in Applied Physics from the California Institute of Technology and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Santa Barbara in Electrical and Computer Engineering. He joined the faculty at BYU in 2002, where he directs the university's cleanroom facility and co-directs a flagship undergraduate research program called IMMERSE. Hawkins is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Optical Society (OSA). He has authored or coauthored nearly 400 technical papers and was the co-editor of the Optofluidics Handbook, a defining text on the new field of optofluidics. He also co-authored the textbook Practically Magic, A Guide to Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Jones earned his B.S. degree in civil engineering at BYU and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in civil engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. He joined the faculty at BYU in 1991. He has been the person in charge or co-person in charge on $15M in external research grants and has authored 166 technical publications. Jones was the director of the BYU Environmental Modeling Research Laboratory, which developed water resource simulation software that is used by thousands of organizations around the world. He is currently a member of the BYU Hydroinformatics laboratory. His research interests include computer modeling of groundwater systems and groundwater sustainability analysis using earth observations and machine learning.

Media Contact

Brian Blumer


Brian Blumer


BYU Photo

Release Date

June 30, 2021