Skip to main content

New Chemical Engineering Department Chair

Dr. Dean R. Wheeler named chair of Chemical Engineering Department.

The Ira A. Fulton College of Engineering recently announced the appointment of Dr. Dean R. Wheeler as chemical engineering department chair. Wheeler’s appointment is effective December, 2022.

Wheeler replaces Tom Fletcher, who has been serving since 2016. Department chairs serve for a three year term, with an opportunity for one renewal at the end of that term. To choose a department chair, the dean and associate deans interview the faculty to receive recommendations for who to select.

dean wheeler
Dr. Dean R. Wheeler
Photo by Kenny Crookston

Wheeler is a professor in the chemical engineering program and teaches courses about the following: heat & mass transfer, thermodynamics, materials science, electrochemical engineering, career skills, and general chemical engineering. His research and publications specialize in electrochemical engineering, with over 150 publications and presentations covering this subject. With his students, Wheeler has developed world-class tools for measuring electronic and ionic conductivity of battery materials.

Of Wheeler, Associate Dean W. Vince Wilding said, “A department chair is a leader among equals. They have to be good at establishing a vision, direction, getting consensus, and fostering a culture within the department. I have worked with Dean Wheeler for a lot of years. He is an excellent scholar, a creative researcher, and a very caring and thoughtful instructor with the students. He is an excellent person for the job.”