Skip to main content

Engineering and technology faculty receive top university honors

byu sign

At this year's University Conference, BYU's most prestigious award went to Randal W. Beard, professor of electrical and computer engineering. Three other Ira A. Fulton College faculty members were also honored.

Beard received the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, BYU's highest faculty honor. The award is made possible by the Karl G. Maeser Scholarship Society. Recipients must demonstrate clear superiority in both scholarship and teaching. Beard will deliver the Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecture at a forum assembly. The date and time will be announced at a later date.

An internationally recognized scholar, Beard's work on the navigation, guidance and control of unmanned aircraft systems has resulted in more than $10 million in external research grants and more than 200 peer-reviewed publications that have received over 20,000 citations. He also had a successful company that was acquired by Lockheed Martin. He has mentored 14 PhD students, 25 master's students, and hundreds of undergraduates.

Other Ira A. Fulton College faculty members honored with university awards were:

  • Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award — Steven L. Shumway, technology and engineering studies
  • Alumni Professorship — Brad L. Hutchings, electrical and computer engineering.
  • Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award — Alan R. Parkinson, mechanical engineering